ATSA’s 2018 AGM


ATSA Chairman, Geoff Purtill reported that ATSA has increased its importance and relevance as an industry body, especially to government and the NDIA plus fulfilling a number of strategic objectives set by ATSA in 2017. This was demonstrated through a number of representations for the industry at senate enquiries including actions by ATSA covering a number of topics:

  • Supply of AT by the NDIS, where we have managed to raise the problems with payment, quoting and getting resolutions.
  • Innovative Mobility Devices workshop with National Transport Commission (NTC)
  • Influence in the Road vehicle standards bill, re the importation of disability vehicle requiring to meet Australian Standards
  • Development of an accreditation scheme for assistive technology and suppliers
  • Involvement with the TGA re the registration of Class 1 Medical devices on the ARTG listing

Geoff Purtill passed on his thanks to the Committee for their time and dedication to ATSA becoming a great representative of the industry, and particularly outgoing committee members Jill Barnett (Magic Mobility) & Owen Dawes (Permobil) for their outstanding commitment to ATSA and the industry.

With the new constitution, ATSA has now moved to a Board of Management. The AGM endorsed the appointment of Craig Slattery (Para Mobility) and Nik Witcombe (Blue Badge Insurance Australia) as the new Board members who join the standing members, Geoff Purtill (Invacare), Chris Jones (Peak Care), Sam Garland (Aidacare), Ian Rothall (Merits), and George Ajaka (GTK).

It was stated at the AGM by David Sinclair, ATSA’s EO, that there is a growing need to have the facts when in discussion with Government, to that end the AGM endorsed ATSA to proceed with the investigation to establish a suitable approach for gathering industry data that will greatly assist ATSA in its advocacy.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top